Best AI Assistants for Small Business in 2026: 20 Compared by Job
Best AI assistants for small business in 2026, compared by job: the six general assistants, then the specialist chatbots that answer customers, priced today.

The best AI assistant for a small business depends on the job: Claude or ChatGPT for drafting, Gemini in Google Workspace at £11.80 a user if the work lives in Docs and Sheets, Microsoft 365 Copilot at £13.80 a user if it lives in Excel and Outlook, Perplexity for research with sources, and a specialist chatbot such as Tidio, Crisp or HoverBot for answering customers. This guide compares 20 by job, with prices read on 3 November 2026.
Adoption has moved fast and unevenly. The Office for National Statistics found 29% of UK businesses using at least one AI technology in June 2026, 28% of firms with fewer than ten staff and 35% of larger ones, against 16% in the government's 2025 survey a year earlier. The same month, Zendesk's trends research reported 88% of customers expecting faster replies than a year ago. The catch is accuracy: on 2 November 2026 Which? asked ChatGPT for the cheapest price on 25 popular products and it was right on eight. AI assistants for small business earn their keep when the right one is pointed at the right job, with a human reading the answer before a customer does.
Below: how we judged, the six general assistants compared, the specialists by job with prices, what each does with your data, the accuracy rules a UK business should know, and where an agent that acts fits next to an assistant that answers.
Want an assistant that does the job rather than describes it, from a quote to a booking to an invoice? Start free at Jobbit with 100 credits a day and no card.
How we judged
- Prices from the vendor's own page on 3 November 2026. OpenAI's pages refused our requests, so ChatGPT's figures are its dollar list prices from an OpenAI documentation page, and Claude, Perplexity and Manus show dollars only; the Google and Microsoft prices are in pounds from their UK pages.
- Judged by job, not by benchmark: answering customers, drafting, research, spreadsheets, sales admin.
- Data-training default stated wherever the vendor states it, because a small firm's customer messages should not train anyone's model.
- UK availability checked. Meta's Muse is not available in the UK and gets one line.
- Small founder-run chatbots included where live and priced, labelled as small.
The six general assistants
| Assistant | Cheapest paid, personal | Business plan | Data training | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Go $8 a month; Plus $20 | Business $20 a user a month annual, two-seat minimum | Business: not used by default | UK pound prices only at checkout |
| Claude | Pro $17 a month annual | Team $20 a seat annual, 2 to 150 seats | Team: none by default; consumer plans controlled in privacy settings | Research and scheduled tasks on Pro |
| Gemini | AI Plus £4.49 to £7.99 depending on the Google page; AI Pro £18.99 | Workspace Starter £5.90 (Gmail only), Standard £11.80 (Docs, Sheets, Meet) | Workspace: company data not used to train | Gemini agent on Ultra is US-only |
| Microsoft Copilot | Microsoft 365 Premium £18.99 a month | Copilot Business add-on £13.80 a user a month yearly until 31 December 2026, on an eligible plan | Not used to train foundation models | Needs an existing Microsoft 365 plan |
| Perplexity | Pro $17 a month annual | Enterprise by contact | Not stated | Computer agent included on Pro, metered by credits |
| Manus | Pro from $20 a month | Team $20 a seat | Training opt-out on Team | Reported acquired by Meta; still sold on its own site |
Meta's Muse, with a free tier and $20 and $100 plans in the United States, is not available in the UK; watch for a date.
Answering customers on the website and WhatsApp
This is the job most small firms mean by "chatbot", and the general assistants do not do it: they have no widget on your site and no WhatsApp number. The specialists:
- Tidio has a free plan for 50 conversations and 10 seats, Starter at $24.17 a month, and its Lyro AI agent, which the vendor says runs on Claude and in-house models, as an add-on from $32.50 a month; WhatsApp on every plan. The real starting cost is about $57 with AI.
- Chatbase has no free plan, Hobby at $32 a month for 700 message credits on yearly billing, WhatsApp on all tiers, and states your data is not used to train models.
- Crisp, self-funded in France, is free for two agents without AI and $45 a month on Mini with $5 of AI credits, about 90 automated conversations.
- Intercom Fin charges $0.99 per resolved conversation on top of a helpdesk seat at $29 regular, $19 on its new-customer discount, and runs on Intercom's own models.
- Zendesk prices in pounds, Suite Team at £45 an agent a month on yearly billing with five AI resolutions included, then £1.30 each on commitment; built for support teams, expensive for three people.
- HoverBot, a small founder-run product, answers from your catalogue and policies, hands off when unsure, and is free for 25 solved conversations a month or $19 a site for 100, charging only for conversations it solved.
- Wonderchat is free for 50 AI replies a month with a shared inbox and live handover, $32.50 a month on yearly Starter, with WhatsApp from Starter.
- Retalk answers from your documents at €49 a month for 250 conversations after a 30-day trial, forwarding what it cannot answer and remembering the reply.
- AutoChat is a WhatsApp-only inbox and bot builder on the official platform, $50 a month for five agents, with Meta's per-message fees on top and AI as a light layer.
- [FiveMinChat](https://fiveminchat.com) answers from your own content around the clock and captures leads, with plans priced in rupees and US dollars and a 7-day free trial.
The rule for all of them: the bot answers from your content, not from the internet, and the handover to a human is the feature to test first. The customer support guide covers the setup.
Drafting
Claude and ChatGPT are the drafting tools, and the difference at the entry tier is $17 against $20 a month on annual billing. Grammarly's Pro plan is £10 a month on its UK page with 2,000 AI prompts a member and a free tier of 100, and individuals can opt out of training in settings. Notion AI only arrives properly on the Business plan at £16.50 a member a month; the Free and Plus tiers get a trial, and Notion says it does not train on your data unless you opt in. Jasper is $59 a seat a month on yearly billing, aimed at marketing teams, and says it does not use your data for training.
Research
Perplexity's Pro plan at $17 a month on annual billing answers with sources and includes its Computer agent, metered in credits that heavy users top up. Claude's Research and ChatGPT's deep-research modes do the same from inside the chat. Elicit searches 138 million academic papers, free for search and summaries and $49 a user a month on Pro, which is the right tool for a question with a study behind it and the wrong one for a competitor's prices.
Spreadsheets and data
Gemini in Sheets needs Google Workspace Standard at £11.80 a user a month; the £5.90 Starter plan has Gemini in Gmail only. Copilot in Excel comes with the Microsoft 365 Copilot Business add-on at £13.80 a user a month on yearly billing until the end of 2026, on an eligible Business plan. Rows is a spreadsheet with AI built in, free for five AI tasks a month and $6 a user a month on annual Plus. Julius, the dedicated data-chat tool, blocked our request and its prices vary between sources, so check its page.
Sales admin
Lindy builds assistants that find leads, draft outreach in your voice and schedule meetings, free with $50 of credits for a week and $29.99 a month for 3,000 credits, with actions that send email waiting for approval and a statement that your data is never used for training; a deep task costs 250 to 1,000 credits, so the allowance goes fast. Calendly's AI notetaker and scheduling assistant are paid add-ons on top of its $10 Standard seat. The AI phone agents that answer calls and book appointments, such as Goodcall from $79 a month, do not state UK support and record every call, which in the UK needs a notice under GDPR and PECR, so we leave them off the list.
For LinkedIn outreach, ZenMode works out who to contact from your website visitors, writes the messages, follows up and puts every reply in one inbox, with a review step before anything is sent.
What each does with your data
The vendors that state a no-training default for business plans: ChatGPT Business, Claude Team, Google Workspace, Microsoft 365 Copilot, Chatbase, Jasper, Lindy and Notion. Claude's consumer plans put the choice in privacy settings and never use incognito chats; Grammarly lets individuals opt out; Manus offers the opt-out on its Team plan. Perplexity, Tidio, Crisp, Wonderchat, Retalk and AutoChat did not state it on the pages we read. For a chatbot that reads customer messages, that line in the terms matters more than the model it runs.
The accuracy rules in the UK
There is no law that says a chatbot must be right, and three things come close. The Information Commissioner's AI guidance says statistical accuracy "continues to remain key for fairness". The Financial Conduct Authority's 2024 update told regulated firms that chatbots can help customers but raise risks and that the Consumer Duty applies, with communications that are "clear, fair and not misleading". And in February 2024 a Canadian tribunal held Air Canada liable for a refund its website chatbot had wrongly promised, CA$812 plus costs; persuasive rather than binding here, and exactly the case a UK small claims court would be shown. The practical rule: the bot quotes your published prices and policies, hands off anything else, and a person reads the transcript each week.
Assistant or agent
Every tool above answers. The next question is who does the work the answer describes.
- A quote from a message. The customer's WhatsApp becomes the quote, the booking and the deposit link, not a draft to copy.
- The follow-up that goes on day three, on a schedule, with Jobbit's automations running it.
- The research report with sources, delivered as a page, not a chat you scroll back through.
- The spreadsheet update done in the sheet you already use.
- A human when needed. The job handed to a person from the network when the bot has reached its edge.
The plans on this page run from $8 to £18.99 a month for one assistant. Jobbit's Go plan is £7 a month for 2,000 credits with a small app hosted on your own domain, and the free plan gives 100 credits a day with no card; the pricing page has the rest.
If you want agents that act across your tools rather than in a chat window, Melaya is a platform for building and running AI agents across the browser, desktop apps and an Android phone, using your own AI model and approving every action.
Your first week
- Day 1: pick the general assistant by where your files live: Gemini for Google Workspace, Copilot for Microsoft, Claude or ChatGPT otherwise.
- Day 2: write the ten questions customers ask most and the exact answers.
- Day 3: put them into a free chatbot tier, HoverBot, Tidio, Crisp or Wonderchat, with the handover switched on.
- Day 4: read the training line in the terms of everything you installed.
- Day 7: read the week's transcripts and fix the three worst answers.
Read next
- Chatbot vs AI Agent: The Difference Explained Simply for Non-Technical People
- How to Automate Customer Support With AI in 2026 Without Annoying Customers
- Which AI Should You Pay For in 2026? ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini Compared
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI assistant for a small business?
The one that sits where your work is: Gemini in Google Workspace Standard at £11.80 a user a month for Docs and Sheets, Microsoft 365 Copilot Business at £13.80 a user on a yearly plan for Excel and Outlook, Claude Pro at $17 a month on annual billing or ChatGPT Plus at $20 for drafting and thinking, Perplexity Pro at $17 for research with sources. For answering customers you need a specialist chatbot as well. Prices read on 3 November 2026.
What is the cheapest AI chatbot for a small business website?
HoverBot is free for 25 solved conversations a month and $19 a site for 100; Wonderchat is free for 50 AI replies; Tidio's free plan covers 50 conversations with AI as a paid add-on; Crisp is free for two agents without AI and $45 a month with it. Chatbase starts at $32 a month with no free plan. All answer from your own content and hand off to a person.
Do AI assistants use my business data to train their models?
The business plans of ChatGPT, Claude, Google Workspace and Microsoft 365 Copilot say no by default, as do Chatbase, Jasper, Lindy and Notion. Claude's consumer plans put the choice in privacy settings. Several chatbot vendors did not state it on their pricing pages when we checked, so read the terms before a bot reads your customers' messages.
Is Meta's Muse available in the UK?
No. Muse launched in the United States with a free tier and paid plans at $20 and $100 and had reached Canada by autumn 2026, with no UK date. Meta AI inside WhatsApp, Instagram and Facebook is a different product and is available in the UK.
Can a business be held responsible for what its chatbot says?
A Canadian tribunal said yes in February 2024, ordering Air Canada to honour a refund its chatbot had wrongly described and pay CA$812 plus costs. The ruling is persuasive rather than binding in the UK, where the Consumer Duty applies to regulated firms and the ICO's guidance treats accuracy as part of fairness. The safe setup is a bot that quotes published prices and policies and hands off everything else.
What is the difference between an AI assistant and an AI agent?
An assistant answers; an agent does the task the answer describes, such as sending the quote, booking the slot or running the follow-up on a schedule. A Jobbit agent does that with 100 free credits a day and no card, with the Go plan at £7 a month for 2,000 credits, and brings in a person from the network when the task needs one.